NaPoWriMo Day #28: We’re tilting

I wrote today’s poem in response to today’s NaPoWriMo prompt to write a poem based on a story in the news. This poem is based to a degree on the following news story: ‘We’re tilting’: Cell phone video on ferry captures uncertainty on board, by Ashley Fantz. Retrieved April 28, 2014 from http://www.cnn.com.
 

We’re Tilting

We can hear the voice of a dead boy
From the sunken South Korean ferry
Weeks after he drowned.
His body yielded to
Death in the ocean,
He comments on the tilting,
The rocking motion,
He felt
Before it went down.
He no longer makes a sound,
But push a button
And his voice you will hear,
Young and strong and
Startlingly clear
As he says with a cry:
“We’re sinking, did you hear?
Am I really going to die?”

Now Mother cries and
Father weeps
Over the body pulled from
Watery darkness,
Their child who, in death, sleeps.
Mourning as they remember
(With, oh, such painful clarity!)
The babe they used to hold-
Whose life was lost
‘Neath the waves,
Tempest tossed,
To the cold.

©Deborah Goschy

About debbiewritesstuff

I am a wife and mom in Minnesota with more than enough things to think about! For the past two years I have served with AmeriCorps, last year I helped children from grades K-3 with their reading through Minnesota Reading Corps. This past school year I taught social and emotional skills to preschool children through the LEAP Initiative in Southern Minnesota. I've been working on my own writing endeavors for a little while now: a novel that I have put on the backburner and poetry. I have a Master's degree Counseling and Psychological Services. I love history, family stories, taking pictures, singing in the church choir, reading, tracing the family tree, and oh, yes writing. I also love 'likes' and comments on my blog and I am tickled when someone chooses to 'follow me.'
This entry was posted in Poems about Life, Poems about sadness and tragedy, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

