NaPoWriMo Day #25: Lily

Another tanka as we ease into the last few days of NaPoWriMo. Enjoy!

Image
Now available for purchase on Zazzle.com!

About debbiewritesstuff

I am a wife and mom in Minnesota with more than enough things to think about! For the past two years I have served with AmeriCorps, last year I helped children from grades K-3 with their reading through Minnesota Reading Corps. This past school year I taught social and emotional skills to preschool children through the LEAP Initiative in Southern Minnesota. I've been working on my own writing endeavors for a little while now: a novel that I have put on the backburner and poetry. I have a Master's degree Counseling and Psychological Services. I love history, family stories, taking pictures, singing in the church choir, reading, tracing the family tree, and oh, yes writing. I also love 'likes' and comments on my blog and I am tickled when someone chooses to 'follow me.'
This entry was posted in Nature Poems, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to NaPoWriMo Day #25: Lily

  1. PookyH says:

    I adore this, both the words and the picture. They’re a perfect fit.

    Like

    • Thank you, Pooky! I’m so used to seeing you in my ‘likes’ and ‘comments’ that I consider you a friend ♥.

      Like

      • PookyH says:

        Oh bless you Debbie! WordPress is full of many wonderful friends. Funny to think I’m so new here!

        Did you enjoy writing this? It looks like you did.

        Like

      • I enjoyed taking the picture last June and editing it, then putting the poem on it today. I enjoyed the poem too, but I mostly did the poem because it seems to be a type of poetry that people like. I get more ‘likes’ when I do tanka or haiku. I find the form easy and I do enjoy it, but it didn’t fill me with any creative excitement today. I’ve noticed I spend a lot of time on WordPress worrying about what people like. There are poems that I have enjoyed doing more, like The Rhythm of Threes, A Doll for Robin, and Baby Girl’s Shoe.

        Like

      • PookyH says:

        it’s funny that you say that. I find that poems I enjoy writing more are not the ones other people enjoy as much.

        Also, the longer the poem, the less likes it seems to get, I guess less folk make it to the end?? This is great though – but it depends why you’re here. Are you writing for you or your audience?

        Like

      • I’m writing for myself and others too. I enjoy the writing, but I like to share it and for others to know that it’s mine. I think the shorter posts are more popular because they’re easier to read on phones and tablets. I make an effort to read longer posts (lately I’ve had a hard time keeping up at all), but it’s easier to read and like things that are short and sweet. The devices might be shaping the art, I suppose.

        Like

      • PookyH says:

        Yes that makes a lot of sense – it’s much the same for me. Many of my posts are shorter these days as I tend to write them all on my iPhone which creates its own issues!

        I think my approach is similar. I write for me but I love it when other people read and comment. I’m especially interested by how people interpret or respond to what I’ve written. Often I find that others’ interpretation of my words is far deeper and better than what was originally going through my mind. It’s one of the reasons I so rarely write any substantial accompanying text because I like the poem to stand alone rather than to interpret it for people?..

        Like you, I struggle to keep up. I feel so bad when I don’t respond to comments because I treasure them, but it’s hard to find the time! A lovely problem to have though and I love to discover new blogs.

        Like

Leave a Reply

