NaPoWriMo Day #22: Saphline Beside Me

Author’s Note: Today I tried a bit of prose poetry. I wrote about our family cat, Saphline, a Siamese-domestic shorthair mix. My daughter named her; her name sounds like it is spelled Safflinn.
 

Sitting at the computer, the television is on.
Saphline, the Siamese cat, sits next to me on the ottoman, quietly resting.

saphline on the stool cropped

Saphline napping on the footstool. ©Deborah Goschy

Every so often she awakens with a trill, as if I’ve disturbed her, slits her eyes at me, and stretches her furry body before curling around herself and falling back into a doze. Until, feeling the weight of my stare and tired of the snap-flash of my camera, she comes to rest on my keyboard.
All of my activity ceases as she proceeds to lick herself, doing contortions and opening tabs on my browser. “Obviously the camera was a mistake,” I think as I put it aside. Patiently, I wait for her to finish her bath but she has decided to give herself a full wash from the tips of her ears to the tip of her tail.
Finally, I pick her up. “I get the message,” I say as I move her, brushing away the dander she has left behind.
Having taught me a lesson, she goes to the arm of the couch and plops to the floor with grace and ease.
As I close all the tabs on the browser, she circles the room before coming to sit on the ottoman, next to me, again.

About debbiewritesstuff

I am a wife and mom in Minnesota with more than enough things to think about! For the past two years I have served with AmeriCorps, last year I helped children from grades K-3 with their reading through Minnesota Reading Corps. This past school year I taught social and emotional skills to preschool children through the LEAP Initiative in Southern Minnesota. I've been working on my own writing endeavors for a little while now: a novel that I have put on the backburner and poetry. I have a Master's degree Counseling and Psychological Services. I love history, family stories, taking pictures, singing in the church choir, reading, tracing the family tree, and oh, yes writing. I also love 'likes' and comments on my blog and I am tickled when someone chooses to 'follow me.'
This entry was posted in Poetry, Prose poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

