NaPoWriMo Day #21:Baby Girl’s Shoe

One of many shoes left behind my children exterminated at Auschwitz in Poland.

One of many shoes left behind my children exterminated at Auschwitz in Poland.

Baby girl’s shoe,
Tiny and broken,
Lining cracked and leather
Crumpled,
Scuffed at the toe, and
The strap across rumpled.
Yet still buttoned
The way it was by some
Child’s mother,
Father, sister, or older brother
For this daughter
The day it was slipped off
And thrown on
The pile,
And they were marched to the
Slaughter.

The guards did not cast lots for it.
They did not want the shoe of some
‘Inferior Juden baby’
There were shoes to spare,
Wall to wall,
A mountain of shoes,
And that’s not all.
Even more artifacts were gathered there:
Barrels of clothes
And baskets of hair.

The Three Wise men brought
Gold, frankincense, and myrrh
To the stable.
The Nazis brought
Death,
Hair,
Clothes,
Shoes, and
Shame to the table.
Gifts of the Deluded, who:
Threw away the baby and kept the bathwater,
Threw out the candy but kept the wrapper,
Threw out the innocent but kept the blemished,
Threw away the promise of tomorrow
And kept the perverted ideal.
No, this is no story,
But a tale maddeningly real.

Sadly it still happens,
Everywhere the untrue truth has been bought
That life will be better without THEM
~Whomever they are~
As if, through their hubris, improvement can be made
On the beautiful creatures God has wrought,
Following their perverted ideal.
No, this is no story,
But a tale maddeningly real.

©Deborah Goschy

About debbiewritesstuff

I am a wife and mom in Minnesota with more than enough things to think about! For the past two years I have served with AmeriCorps, last year I helped children from grades K-3 with their reading through Minnesota Reading Corps. This past school year I taught social and emotional skills to preschool children through the LEAP Initiative in Southern Minnesota. I've been working on my own writing endeavors for a little while now: a novel that I have put on the backburner and poetry. I have a Master's degree Counseling and Psychological Services. I love history, family stories, taking pictures, singing in the church choir, reading, tracing the family tree, and oh, yes writing. I also love 'likes' and comments on my blog and I am tickled when someone chooses to 'follow me.'
This entry was posted in Poems about sadness and tragedy, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

