NaPoWriMo Day #15: Digger

 

Image

Unknown Australian WWI Soldier

Digger

Old soldier you are, though here you are young,

You are probably now dead and gone

But when you left you were not more than twenty-one.

Did you die of old age?

Or did you fall long ago on the banks of the Somme?

I imagine your sweetheart would gaze

At this image and dream

Of looking into your clear eyes of blue

Or maybe green

Or perhaps some amalgam, like hazel,

Neither one nor the other, but in between.

Yours was the loveliest face she had ever seen.

You kissed her ‘fore leaving

With the promise you’d marry

On your return—your promise was firm

You wouldn’t tarry.

You’d take over your father’s farm

You would love each other

Your babies she’d carry.

Tell me, soldier, did your dreams come true?

Did you come back ruined or not at all?

Were your bones laid to rest

Where you happened to fall?

My dear man, what happened to you?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About debbiewritesstuff

I am a wife and mom in Minnesota with more than enough things to think about! For the past two years I have served with AmeriCorps, last year I helped children from grades K-3 with their reading through Minnesota Reading Corps. This past school year I taught social and emotional skills to preschool children through the LEAP Initiative in Southern Minnesota. I've been working on my own writing endeavors for a little while now: a novel that I have put on the backburner and poetry. I have a Master's degree Counseling and Psychological Services. I love history, family stories, taking pictures, singing in the church choir, reading, tracing the family tree, and oh, yes writing. I also love 'likes' and comments on my blog and I am tickled when someone chooses to 'follow me.'
Aside | This entry was posted in Poems about Life, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

