NaPoWriMo Day #8-A Poem During Courtship

(Author’s Note: I composed the following love poem for someone very special many years ago. I have changed the title to protect his identity. That is not to say that he is embarrassed by this poem, but that it is nobody else’s business.)

A Poem During Courtship

flower cutout

It wasn’t your brown eyes that got me

Your bad jokes

Your curly hair

Your intelligence

Your interesting expressions

Your insatiable hunger for argument.

The fact that you’re the perfect size for me

Just didn’t measure up

Your love of reading and poetry

Inspired my mind

But not my affection.

It was your heart.

Because you loved me but didn’t say so

Because you gave me a rose

And a poem

You offered me your honesty.

Because I offered friendship and you took it.

Because you offered friendship and I accepted it.

A mutual exchange.

Because you love me and you told me so

Because you called me beautiful

And I believed you.

All the things you are to me come from your heart.

 DF/KG 95-2-14

flower cutout

About debbiewritesstuff

I am a wife and mom in Minnesota with more than enough things to think about! For the past two years I have served with AmeriCorps, last year I helped children from grades K-3 with their reading through Minnesota Reading Corps. This past school year I taught social and emotional skills to preschool children through the LEAP Initiative in Southern Minnesota. I've been working on my own writing endeavors for a little while now: a novel that I have put on the backburner and poetry. I have a Master's degree Counseling and Psychological Services. I love history, family stories, taking pictures, singing in the church choir, reading, tracing the family tree, and oh, yes writing. I also love 'likes' and comments on my blog and I am tickled when someone chooses to 'follow me.'
This entry was posted in Love poems, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

